October 15 – 18, 2020 Films & Events

Concert & Tribute Honoring Terence Blanchard

Return to Virtual Cinema

 The Middleburg Film Festival is honored to present the 2019 Distinguished Film Composer Award to Terence Blanchard. 


Six-time Grammy Award-winning trumpeter and Academy Award nominated composer, Terence Blanchard, has been a consistent artistic force for making powerful musical statements concerning painful American tragedies—past and present. From composing the scores for Spike Lee films including the documentary When the Levees Broke, about Blanchard’s hometown of New Orleans during the devastation from Hurricane Katrina to the latest Lee film, BlacKkKlansman, for which he received an Oscar nomination for Best Musical Score, Blanchard has interwoven melodies that created strong backdrops to human stories. 


Blanchard has scored more than 40 films and is a frequent collaborator with screenwriter/director Kasi Lemmons – most recently, composing the powerful and haunting score for Harriet. Blanchard also composed the score for Lemmons’ award-winning film, Eve’s Bayou.  


Blanchard began playing piano at age 5, and later trumpet beginning in summer camps alongside his childhood friend Wynton Marsalis. While studying jazz at Rutgers University, Blanchard was invited to play with the Lionel Hampton Orchestra and later with Art Blakey’s Jazz Messengers.  In June 2019, Blanchard was named the first Kenny Burrell Chair in Jazz Studies at the UCLA Herb Alpert School of Music



Sunday, October 20  11:00 am   Salamander Resort Ballroom


E Collective, along with a 30-piece orchestra, will perform selections from some of Blanchard’s most memorable scores including Mo’ Better Blues, When the Levees BrokeMiracle at St. AnnaBlacKkKlansman,Comedian, and Harriet.  Between selections, Blanchard will talk about his creative process. 


About E Collective: 

Experimental, electric and exotic, E-Collective consists of Blanchard on trumpet, Charles Altura on guitar, Fabian Almazan on piano and synthesizers, Oscar Seaton on drums and new addition David “DJ” Ginyard on bass.